

Technology Committee

Sub-Committee of Planning and Resource Allocation Committee Fall 2020 Semester

Meeting Monday September 21, 2020 via Zoom at 12:40pm

Membership: Khadija Nakhuda, Katherine Chuang, Paul Cheney, Luna Finlayson, Andy Haber, Carol Hildebrand, Matthew Howard, Matthew Kent, David Patterson, Caitlin Rolston, Grace Mengqi Yuan

Standing Items

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Approval and adoption of the Agenda
- 3. Approve minutes
- 4. Chair Announcements

Discussion Items

- 1. Review and update Charge (see Addendum #1)
- 2. Where the job ends
- 3. Technology Master Plan updates
- 4. New meeting dates and note taking schedule

Addendum #1

Charge

The Technology Committee operates as a subcommittee of the Planning and Resource Allocation Committee (PRAC) to assure staff and faculty involvement in technology planning and provide guidance for major technological decisions. The Committee will make recommendations to the Planning and Resource Allocation Committee regarding technology-related issues and will be responsible for the following:

Responsibilities

- Provide oversight for the development, implementation, and updating of an integrated Technology Plan.
- Review and develop technology-related policies for the District.
- Make specific recommendations to the superintendent/president on the use of technology throughout the District with regard to both ongoing activities and future direction.
- Inform the College community in[of] advances and opportunities in technology to support teaching and learning.
- Disseminate information about the current activities and future plans in each of the technology areas (Infrastructure, Information Systems, Instructional, and Student Services).
- Maintain a comprehensive overview of the entire technological effort in the District.
- Assess and develop policy on matters such as intellectual property rights, appropriate use of technology, and standards.
- Establish appropriate timelines to complete tasks and make recommendations.
- Make recommendations for the purchase of equipment to support instruction and student areas to the Institutional Equipment Committee (IEC) and other appropriate groups.

Composition

Three (3) classified professionals appointed by the Classified Professional Liaison Committee (CPLC)

Two (2) students appointed by the Associated Students of College of Marin (ASCOM)

Two (2) administrators appointed by the superintendent/president

Seven (7) faculty appointed by the Academic Senate, preferably from the following areas:

- Basic Skills/ESL
- Counseling/DSPS
- Lifelong Learning Programs
- Library
- Online Instruction
- Technical Discipline
- Transfer Programs
- Workforce Development/Career Programs

The Chair or Co-Chairs will be elected from the group.

Members

Grace Mengqi Yuan, Classified Professional, Co-Chair, appointed Fall 2018 Paul Cheney, Faculty, Co-Chair, appointed Fall 2018

Faculty

Caitlin Rolston, appointed Fall 2018 David Patterson, appointed Fall 2018 Luna C. Finlayson, appointed Fall 2018 [vacant]

[vacant]

[vacant]

Classified Professional Andy Haber, appointed Fall 2018 Matthew R Kent, appointed Fall 2018

Students

Katherine Chuang, appointed Fall 2020

Administrators
Matthew J Howard, appointed Fall 2018
Carol Hildebrand, appointed Fall 2018

Staff Resource Vacant